The Directorate of Research and Innovation is led by the Director, supported by the Deputy Director and Assistant Research Scientist for the smooth functioning of the Directorate.

Dr P N Tekwani

Director – Research and Innovation

Dean, Faculty of Doctoral Studies and Research

E-mail :

Ph. +91-79-71652670

Dr P N Tekwani is serving as the Director – Research and Innovation, and Dean, Faculty of Doctoral Studies and Research, Nirma University. He is a Professor of Electrical Engineering. He received PhD degree from Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore in the field of Multi-Level Inverter Fed Induction Motor Drives. He received ‘Tag Corporation Medal Award’ of IISc for ‘The Best PhD Thesis’. He is the ‘First Rank’ holder in ME, and ‘University First (Gold Medallist)’ in BE. He has professional experience of more than 23 years. Dr Tekwani has published more than 90 research papers. His research interests are Power Electronic Converters, Power Quality, Power Supplies, and Motor Drives. He has been serving the Institute of Technology, Nirma University since 2001. He has also worked as Director (i/c) – Institute of Technology, and Dean (i/c) – Faculty of Technology and Engineering (FoTE) of Nirma University for the Academic Year 2015-16. He worked as the Head of the Electrical Engineering Department during 2012-2018 and served as Chairman of the Board of Studies of Electrical Engineering. He also served as Chairman of BoS of Electronics & Communication Engineering, and Instrumentation & Control Engineering during 2012-2016. He was Professor In-Charge of Industry-Institution Interaction (III) Cell of Institute of Technology during Jan 2018-July 2019. Presently he works as Chief Editor of Nirma University Journal of Engineering and Technology (NUJET). Before joining the Nirma University, he served in the Electrical Research and Development Association (ERDA), Baroda, and Amtech Electronics Pvt Ltd, Gandhinagar. He has guided 2 PhD theses, 47 MTech dissertations, 36 undergraduate projects, and a large number of minor projects as-well-as seminars. He has edited one book on conference proceedings with CRC Press (Taylor and Francis Group). He is “Young Associate” of Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), and a “Senior Member” of IEEE and IEEE-Industrial Electronics Society, USA. He also works as Associate Editor of IEEE Transaction on Industrial Electronics. He is a life member of ISTE and Society of Power Engineers (India). Dr Tekwani has won Best Paper Awards several times at different National and International conferences.

Dr Heena Dave

Assistant Research Scientist

E-mail :

Ph. +91-79-71652697


Dr Heena Dave is presently working as an Assistant Research Scientist in the Institute of Science, Nirma University. In addition to that, she is also serving Directorate of Research and Innovation, Nirma University. Dr Dave is a Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry from St Xavier’s College, Ahmedabad, Gujarat (1994), and Master of Science in Life Sciences from School of Sciences, Gujarat University. She earned her doctorate in Life Sciences from the Gujarat Cancer and Research Institute (GCRI) and Gujarat University. Dr Dave was awarded a Post-doctoral Fellowship in Cancer Research at NYU Langone Medical Centre, New York (2012-2013). She has also earned a Post Graduate Diploma in Hospital and Healthcare from Ahmedabad Management Association and California University (2015). Dr Dave was associated with The Gujarat Cancer and Research Institute, Ahmedabad from August 1996 to June 2012 in various capacities from Junior Research Fellow, Junior Research Assistant, Research Assistant to Research Associate. Dr Dave was also associated with Institute of Science, Nirma University from 2013 to 2017 as Assistant Professor. Dr Dave is a recipient of the world’s most prestigious ‘Fulbright-Nehru Doctoral and Professional Research Scholarship’ during 2009-2010 awarded by United States-India Educational Foundation (USIEF). She is also an awardee of ‘Benjamin DuranTravel Grant’ award by Fulbright commission for her paper presented at American Association of Cancer Research Annual Meeting 2010; Washington DC, USA. She has more than 6 research awards; to name a few, ‘Sitaram Joglekar Award’ (2001), ‘Professor A R RaoMemorial Young Researcher/Scientist Award’ (2011) for her outstanding research contribution. Her research interest is in identifying cancer biomarkers and understanding their signaling pathways for prognosis and metastasis to select the treatment modalities leading to personalised therapy.

Get our Newsletter